“WE KNOW WHAT WE ARE, BUT KNOW NOT WHAT WE MAY BE.” – William Shakespeare

At 22 years old I was working full-time in a job that just didn’t satisfy me. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life but I did know that this job wasn’t it and so, after much deliberation, I enrolled as a mature student to university. Once there, I changed courses three times, until I finally settled on Creative Media Technology. Now age 26 it’s time for me to start thinking about life after university and to tell you the truth, I still have no idea what I want to do. I’ve enjoyed CMT – I’ve learnt how to code websites using HTML, CSS, Javascript and PHP, I’ve designed brand identities from the ground up, I’ve scripted, filmed and edited videos – it’s been a creative dream but I just don’t know where I fit into the industry. I haven’t excelled at anything in particular or found a passion for a specific area – so how do I figure out which direction I want my life to take once I’ve graduated?

I thought I’d start at the center of it all – me. What defines me as a person? What are my strengths and weaknesses? My motivations and deterrents? Self-analysis is key, in my opinion, to understanding yourself better and making the most of your abilities so I did the logical thing and googled a personality test. Before you roll your eyes, there is a lot of psychological research into defining and categorising personalities and it’s something that has been analysed by academics for centuries. Hippocrates (460 – c. 370 BC) developed the Temperament theory which suggests that there are four fundamental personality types; sanguine (enthusiastic, active and social), choleric (short-tempered, fast or irritable), melancholic (analytical, wise and quiet), and phlegmatic (relaxed and peaceful). In his book Psychological Types, Carl Jung (1921) proposed four main functions of consciousness: sensation, intuition, thinking and feeling, each determined by two attitude types: extraversion and introversion. These theories inspired the 16Personalities theory developed by data analysts NERIS Analytics Limited and you can take a free personality test online to find out which of the 16 possible personality types you best fit into.

16personalities

I encourage you to give it a go – the results are, as the site says, ‘freakishly accurate’ and most definitely insightful at the very least. My personality type came out as (INFP-T) or ‘Mediator’ and listed strengths and weaknesses, as well as career information.

mediator

Mediator Strengths

Idealistic, Seek and Value Harmony, Open-Minded and Flexible, Very Creative, Passionate and Energetic, Dedicated and Hard-Working

Mediator Weaknesses

Too Idealistic, Too Altruistic, Impractical, Dislike Dealing With Data, Take Things Personally, Difficult to Get to Know 

Many things rang true: my perfectionism and idealism can often stand in the way of actually getting work done, I have to find value in what I’m doing otherwise it just feels pointless, I enjoy meaningful relationships and work best surrounded by colleagues, I don’t thrive in high-stress situations and much prefer doing what I love without the stress and rigor of professional life and while I may be perceived as calm, reserved, or even shy, I have an inner flame and passion that has the potential to truly shine.

So how do I use this knowledge, harness my inner ability and determine my career path? Guess that’s for another blog post.

MEDIATOR PERSONALITY – CONCLUSION

Few personality types are as poetic and kind-hearted as Mediators. Their altruism and vivid imagination allow Mediators to overcome many challenging obstacles, more often than not brightening the lives of those around them. Mediators’ creativity is invaluable in many areas, including their own personal growth. Yet Mediators can be easily tripped up in areas where idealism and altruism are more of a liability than an asset. Whether it is finding (or keeping) a partner, making friends, reaching dazzling heights on the career ladder or planning for the future, Mediators need to put in a conscious effort to develop their weaker traits and additional skills.” (NERIS Analytics Limited, n.d.)


https://www.16personalities.com

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

