CMT BREAKDOWN

The Creative Media Industry is a truly vast and dynamic area of bright ideas, design expertise and creative solutions to everyday problems. It attracts people from all walks of life with all kinds of interests and characteristics – and it’s these distinctly unique qualities which allows for such a diverse area of work. Job roles span sectors such as advertising, animation, fashion, film, games, photo imaging, marketing, publishing, radio, textiles, TV, VFX… so the industry has a rather large target audience it needs to cater for.

CMT Definition: ‘Those industries which have their origin in individual creativity, skill and talent and which have a potential for wealth and job creation through the generation and exploitation of intellectual property.’ – UK Government’s Department for Culture, Media and Sport, (n.d.)

So where do I fit in to all of this? Through this course I’ve learnt how to create 3D objects and idents, develop and build websites and applications, put together brand guidelines and identities, film and edit video footage plus other skills such as design thinking, academic analysis and critical reflection. Although I feel as though I haven’t really excelled at any particular subject, I have most enjoyed the more graphic design elements of the course – not necessarily creating the assets at the moment as I still have a lot to learn and develop, but putting together brand guideline documents and laying out poster designs as well as other elements like market research and campaigns. With this in mind, I had a look on Creative Skillset and looked into the advertising/marketing and publishing sectors to see what kind of job roles were available, as well as briefly looking at the other categories just to get a general overview. From this information, I mind mapped the roles which appealed to me. I learnt from reading more about the various sections of the industry, that a) it is highly saturated and therefore b) necessary to have a niche area of expertise or interest when applying for a position. Therefore, when choosing which of my work to show on my portfolio, I need to cherry pick both the best and the most relevant to which direction I want my career to go in order to give myself a better chance at success.

mindmap

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

